walnut dovetailed box

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jimmyhenson

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm making this for my wife as a valentines day gift (loads of time) :?
It is my first time to cut dovetails, there is room for improvement but i'm happy with it for my first go. I was hoping to get some advice regarding the finish. I have linseed oil and clear briwax to hand, would either of these or a combination of the 2 work? I'll be using the large piece of walnut for the lid with a couple of brass butt hinges.

http://s43.photobucket.com/user/jamesmc ... sort=3&o=0

Any recommendations/advice will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance
Jimmy

Yes those dovetails look good, I myself am not able to advise you re finishing because I use sanding sealer and wax only myself.

The walnut board appears an unusual piece of timber to me, its different to any piece that as passed my hands.

a couple of coats of boiled linseed oil would work- dont use raw on this. wipe on, leave for 15 mins, and wipe off any excess.

But dont rush it- allow 24 hours between coats. Wax over that is entirely optional.

I think that is what is called crotch walnut - I have some for parts of my secretaire cabinet I am making currently. If you don't want it and would prefer some straight grained walnut I have lots and would be delighted to swap!
Seriously - it will be absolutely beautiful
I would use the bit top left on that board - the figuring will be quite extraordinary
Linseed oil would be OK - but personally I'd get something else - especially if you are in a hurry (i.e. as today is Valentine's Day!). Sanding sealer and wax you could have finished within 15 minutes of starting - linseed will take ages
Nice job and good luck
Mark