Veneering plywood

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Banjopicker

Reaction score
I'm a beginner (complete beginner!) making a couple of toy chests for my young sons. They're the ones in the Stanley Book of Woodwork, if anyone is familiar with that book, and I'm using some very nice ash. Raised panels at the front and sides, and a plywood panel for the back.

The ply backs are 6mm, ash veneered on one side only. I'm considered veneering the other side, if it's not too difficult and there isn't too much of a risk of the veneer peeling off or bubbling up in a few years - it would be very difficult indeed to repair.

Do I really need a vacuum press, etc.? Is there a big risk of failure if I just schlap it on and sandwich it between some hefty offcuts of oak kitchen workhop and some clamps to give it a big squeeze ? The panels are about 3 ft by 1ft, and the back side of the ply is reasonably smooth. The edges of the panel will sit inside the groove in the carcass, so the edges of the veneer won't be vulnerable.

True, the back won't normally be visible, unless the chest is used as a coffee table or something, but it just doesn't feel right to leave it, having invested so much time, money, and HEART and SOUL into this project ! In short, what's the risk ? It isn't something I envisage doing a lot of, and I'm a bit skint after buying the wood and tools, so I can't consider any solution that involves large amounts of cash.

Of course, if anyone knows where I can get 6mm double-sided ash veneer plywood, this would solve it, but all the thin ply I've located seems to be one-sided.

Thanks,

- Bernie

does the veneered side not go outside and the plain side in. or am i missing something forgive me if that`s the case.
all the best
rob

Nothing wrong with veneering both sides. Couldn't you have bought 2 sides veneered stock to begin with?