Unusual Hardwood

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gower

Established Member
Reaction score
I've been making some Garden seats for my kids, mainly using scrap mahogany like hardwoods. I needed extra timber for the slats and bought some B&Q 'hardwood' decking boards, 2400mm x 120 x 20 @ £12.50 a board. Very pleased with the result - a nice yellow colour to contrast the red. I was a little concerned regarding their longevity and couldn't find the species so contacted customer services at B&Q who obliged with 'Almondrilla' from Bolivia. Anyone heard of it? Only a few mentions on a web search.
Cheers,
Jim

Never heard of it but then I'm no wood expert. What you do find is that some companies are almost giving some lesser known species of wood trade names. Common in the guitar world as good quality mahogany gets harder to find and more expensive

Brian, brilliant. B&Q gave me the incorrect spelling (honestly). DMD, it did pass my mind but I would hope that a large, international company such as B&Q would be mindful of the problems and ramifications of using timber from an 'iffy' source or am I being naive!
Cheers,
Jim :D

Hi,

I work in B&Q and just thought I'd let you know that all our timber products are sourced from FSC certified forests. If you ever check your receipt after purchasing a timber product you will see an F between it and the price and this indicates that it is legally harvested. I'm just saying this out of interest in case anyone does care about what B&Q does!!!!

Im sure Greenpeace would have a field day if we were using illegally harvested timber products etc, we already get enough complaints about using peat in our compost and such lik :p

regards,

Michael