Trying to match my hifi speakers. Please help.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gperkins1973

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

I am new to this and would really appreciate anyones advice they can give me to help me match my hifi speakers. I have veneered my subwoofer boxes with American white oak veneer which I ironed on with good success. My speakers are a light cherry veneer which have a orange/yellow appearance. I bought some hard wax oil from a place near where I live which was American and clear gloss. I mixed them 1 part american and 4 parts clear gloss. The applied 3 more coats off clear gloss only. The problem is that is hasn't matched at all. The wax oil was easy to use which I liked.

If anyone has some suggestions as to what I can mix or use I would really appreciate it.

I can't seem to upload pictures. Can someone tell me how please.

The speakers I am using are the Monitor Audio RS6's finished in cherry.

Just google their name to see what the colour looks like.

cheers

Graham

You need to apply stain to get the color match of your wood. In my opinion You need a purple stain to bring the light green color of your oak wood to match with red orange of your cherry wood.
After you get the right color then you can apply your clear coating such as varnish or oil finish.
To find the right stain color you can use the color wheel theory

http://www.wisnofurniturefinishing.com/ ... ishes.html

Good luck

wisno