Triton Oscillating Sander - My experiences!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dissolve

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I recently took delivery of a Triton Oscilating Sander, Using it mostly for making router templates and curved is hardwood no more than 2" thick, I turned it on. and WOW this thing is loud. I'm not sure if it's meant to be this loud but mine sounds horrendous. In action, it's brilliant. for just over £100 it's powerful, a good size and more importantly, it's square (tested with some 3" hardwood)

I'm sure there are a few people on here with them, can anyone chime in with how loud their units are? I might record a clip with sound for reference because I don't want to have it replaced if it's totally normal but it really is loud.

Anyone have experience with one of these?

Sorry, I have no experience of this particular tool, but would be interested in the answer as I'm looking to buy one of these units myself soon. Others I have used in the past have not been overly loud.

:?:

Hi dissolve,

I have a Scheppach version of this sander and yes my one is loud too, loud enough that I wear ear defenders when using it and loud enough that I may upgrade to one with an induction motor that also comes under many brands. Noise aside I do agree with you that its very good at what it does.

Hi Green,

To give you an idea on noise this is one in action: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=esBVz5dmFXE (about 6:45 mark)

I didn't realise they had a brush motor.

That's made my mind up, I'll wait until I can get the more expensive induction motored type.

That's crazy! If you take a look here:

http://www.biggersavings.co.uk/catalogu ... -Motor.php