Tips for arcade machine monitor mounting

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JonT

Reaction score
I need to mount a flat screen monitor panel into a sheet of MDF for an arcade machine I am building. Attached are pics of the panel from the top and side (as you can see, I removed it from its case).

I want to mount the panel in a sheet of MDF. I need to cut a hole in the MDF the size of the visible screen, and a rebate so that the silver frame has a hole to slot into.

I am a complete router novice, so need some guidance on how to make the visible screen shaped hole (needs square corners) and how to make the rebate for the frame to slot in to. Could do with guidance on router tools necessary and tips for suitable jigs.

Attachments

• PanelMain.jpg
    PanelMain.jpg
    38.7 KB · Views: 1,853
  • PanelSide.jpg
    PanelSide.jpg
    66.9 KB · Views: 1,853
How are you finishing the front face of the frame?

You could just make the frame up of four straight edged sections glued at the corners like a simple picture frame.
Back this with another similarly constructed frame with larger opening to form the location rebate.
frame.jpg

Attachments

• frame.jpg
    frame.jpg
    4.3 KB · Views: 1,804
+1 for Chas idea, if you work out what you need on sketchup and make a cutting list, you could take it to your local B&Q and have them cut it from one of the half boards of MDF they have for not to much money. They just glue it up at home.

Thanks for the replies. I am probably going to cover the front with black formica, which would obviously cover any joints as you suggested, but as I am not 100% sure on the finish yet (may paint it) I want to stick with routing the hole.