Thickness planer

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Soulmiester

Established Member
Reaction score
Evening gents.
OK so I'm just a hobbyist wood worker but I'd like to be able to use more rough sawn timber (cost) so I know I will need a thicknesser possibly a jointer/Thicknesser.
I've been looking at some of the lower end stuff like the titan and Clarke but because I don't make any money from my hobby the cost of a Planer will never really be absorbed. So my question is, do they do the job? I've seen 6,8 and 10inch versions of the above names but I don't want to shell out of there's no point. I have a jig for my table saw which gives me near enough perfect edges so the jointer side would just be a bonus.
I'm not bothered if it's second hand, just as long as it does the job I need from it.
Thanks for reading
Any advice would be welcomed
Lee.

You seem to be getting the functions of the machine a little mixed up. A planer/ thicknesser ( only the Americans use the term jointer ) will plane the face and the edge of the board before thicknessing it to the desired width. A P/T machine is the backbone of any workshop and allows you to save hours of backbreaking hand planing so that's the return for your money. In practice I think you will find any planer less than 10" wide will be limiting to use. Surprisingly hardwoods are sold even wider than softwoods so a 10 or 12 inch planer will save you cutting wide boards down to a smaller size.
Remember to budget for a chip extractor as well. :giggle: