Taylor Guitars "The State of Ebony" (Bob Taylor Video)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Interesting video, but has Bob never heard of bookmatched pallet-wood?

My point being, instead of cutting down trees, re-use wood from other sources.

A Taylor in the right hands sounds great, but so does a guitar made from scrap.

You don't need near-extinct tonewoods to make a great sounding guitar.

#controversial.

great video, its something we need to promote more in the instrument industries that alternatives do exist & should be looked into. i make drums for a living and a lot of exotics have become very fashionable in both stave, solid formats, not just veneers.

i suspect this video was done around the times Gibsons factories were raided & caught with a lot of illegal & engendered wood stock.

Great video, thanks for posting.

It's not only Ebony. There's quite a large number of timbers which you can buy today but that probably won't be available in ten or twenty years. I hear from several timber yards that decent quality Wenge is getting harder and harder to source . Mahogany quality has been falling for as long as I can remember, Cuban Mahogany pretty much disappeared between the wars, Brazilian Mahogany is now unobtainable, and the best grades of Honduran Mahogany are now very difficult to find in larger board sizes.

And it's not only tropical timbers, astonishingly European Walnut is now on the CITES lists, admittedly it's not at the highest risk grade, but the fact that it's made an appearance at all is a wake up call.