Table Saw buying advice.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PeterHad

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new here and although I've visited your forums to check up on a few items/reviews etc I have never registered.

I've been an avid hobbyist carpenter (is that a real word?) for more than a few years now and have largely managed to work my way into things with the help of various books and the internet, however last year I took the plunge, built myself a nice shiny new workshop and I am now busy upgrading some of my older, worn out tools, rather than blindly walk into retailers and go by their recommendations it seems logical for me to seek genuine advice, and hopefully be able to contribute if and when the time arises.

Which brings me to my point, my trusty table saw expired a few days ago and while I've managed to repair it and get it working again it really is time to move on, It's just a cheap one my wife bought me from B+Q 10 years ago, my works starting to require more accuracy, a larger capacity as I'm also working on much bigger projects with much harder wood.

I have a max budget of £1000, space isn’t too much of a problem but I would like to move it to the side if I need a little extra space, saying that I don’t really want a "site" type saw, I originally wanted one with an arbour capable of taking a Dado set but it looks like that’s a no go now due to H&S restrictions.

I have been hanging my nose over Axminsters AW10BSB2 £824.95 for a while now and it’s the favorite atm, I'm heading down to Axminster on Wednesday to have a look in the flesh , I’ve also looked at Record Powers TS250C-PKA that's currently £999.95, I'm not overly bothered about that one, seems a little poorly built but I honestly dont know what to expect.