starter lathe for bowl turning?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jayb

Reaction score
hi all,
i am new to this forum and new to wood turning. i am real keen on trying my hand at bowl turning. i want to be working with green wood as i am a tree surgeon and green wood will be readily available to me. i am also trained as a furniture maker so i know a little bit about wood.
my question is what lathe do i buy. what lathe would be a good starter for turning green wood bowls?
i have a very slim budget but really don't want something under powered...
i have been looking at the SEALEY SM1308 and the Clarke CWL1000 as both are in my price range. could anyone recommend one or suggest another,
would be extremely great-full for some help and knowledge.. thanks.....

jayb":308o6kie said:
........i have been looking at the SEALEY SM1308 and the Clarke CWL1000 as both are in my price range. .........

Welcome to the forum.
I think you are in for a bit of a reality check if that is the limit of your budget, a reasonable quality chuck is going to be nearly double that.

I personally would not recommend either even for a new starter and certainly not for someone aiming at turning green wood bowls of any size.

The subject of 'which lathe' is a bit like how long is a piece of string but being realistic a monetary figure about 3 times that mentioned would be a starting point, going for a reasonable second hand lathe should get you mare machine for the money.
The other factor you may not have considered is your tool costs, a basic 3-4 tools will cost your proposed budget.

Best thing you could do is find a local wood turning club and go along and get acquainted with machine power, stability and tooling needs.