• We invite you to join UKWorkshop.
    Members can turn off viewing Ads!

Spreadsheets or tables in posts

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

dickm

Established Member
Joined
25 Oct 2004
Messages
4,567
Reaction score
32
Location
North of Aberdeen
Have been trying to compile a table of what jaws fit what lathe chuck, to post on the spinny bit. But I can't see how to incorporate a table into a posting.
Any hints?
 

Eric The Viking

Established Member
Joined
19 Jan 2010
Messages
6,606
Reaction score
62
Location
Bristle, CUBA (the County that Used to Be Avon)
It's a bit clunky, but you can screengrab from Excel and post it as a GIF or PNG (will look better than a JPEG):
Untitled.gif

(it's for helping me to set the saw table for the odd mitre angles of an octagonal bird table roof!).

Note it's a tiny file yet pretty crisp to look at.

It would be nicer still to be able to actually post spreadsheets!

:)

E.
 

Attachments

gregmcateer

Established Member
Joined
16 Jun 2011
Messages
2,949
Reaction score
228
Location
Stourbridge, W Midlands
Dick,

This is from excel, highlight required fields, copy, paste to word, then highlight and copy then paste to here;

a1 b1
a2 b2
a3 b3

ie the lines get lost.

I tried the same via MS Paint and lost the lines too.

I guess you have to ensure all lined up nicely, (ie justified for numbers) and hope it's clear on pasting - possibly colouring the lines / columns alternately may clarify for reading?

a1 b1
a2 b2
a3 b3

Hey, this is almost as much fun as playing on the lathe! (and warmer!!)

Cheers,

Greg

PS, I bet Blister and the Appleheads will have rinky-dink tool that works perfectly evertyime :lol:
 

CHJ

Established Member
Joined
31 Dec 2004
Messages
20,131
Reaction score
74
Location
Cotswolds UK
For correct formatting they need to be written and edited in PHP compliant code, not HTML.
This is not easy as most editors want to format the code for you and put in all sorts of unwanted spaces and html code etc.

Do a quote on this thread and you will see an example.
woodworking-show-dates-2010-t38294.html

I used to do my lists this way but now just do them in HTML and provide a link to my server as being much easier to edit.

Perhaps the easiest way is to save the screen shot as a gif as suggested by Eric.
table.gif
 

Attachments

Chems

Established Member
Joined
23 Apr 2008
Messages
4,065
Reaction score
0
Location
A Wood Haven
CHJ":azoghtna said:
written and edited in PHP compliant code, not HTML.
Do a quote on this thread and you will see an example.
woodworking-show-dates-2010-t38294.html
That not PHP thats HTML, inline html?

Heres how you do a table dick, its really easy if you just ignore the fact it looks mad!

A tr is a row (Table Row), and a td is a cell (Table Data).

You start by saying
Code:
[table]
to open the table, then you say
Code:
[tr]
to start a line. Put the content you want inside a
Code:
[td]Your Content[/td]
do that for as many columns as your having. Then when your ready to make a new row you close that row by saying
Code:
[/tr]
rinse and repeat this process for each row. When you are done close the table by saying
Code:
[/table]
So a 2x2 table would look like:
Code:
[table]
[tr]   [td]Cell a1[/td]    [td]Cell b1[/td]    [/tr]
[tr]   [td]Cell a2[/td]    [td]Cell b2[/td]    [/tr]
[/table]
Which would show as:

Cell a1Cell b1
Cell a2Cell b2


An image is good an easy, but html last for ever!
 

CHJ

Established Member
Joined
31 Dec 2004
Messages
20,131
Reaction score
74
Location
Cotswolds UK
Chems, I did say PHP compliant :D Most modern HTML editors will try and include css etc. which will come out as garbage.

Hand coding a large table and manually entering the content is not a quick job, especially if you need to return and ammend.
 

Chems

Established Member
Joined
23 Apr 2008
Messages
4,065
Reaction score
0
Location
A Wood Haven
I think what you meant then was that it needs to be written as inline HTML so it will display.
 

AndyT

Established Member
Joined
24 Jul 2007
Messages
12,030
Reaction score
495
Location
Bristol
If you wanted to post a spreadsheet which could actually be used to do calculations, another option would be to link to a Google Document. Anyone with a Google account can create these, from scratch or from an existing spreadsheet, and you can choose to make the document entirely public if you want.
 

dickm

Established Member
Joined
25 Oct 2004
Messages
4,567
Reaction score
32
Location
North of Aberdeen
Thanks, Chems. I'll try that.
Guess I was hoping there was an easy "cut and paste" solution.
(one of the few downsides of retirement is losing instant access to a computer support person :( )
 

Chems

Established Member
Joined
23 Apr 2008
Messages
4,065
Reaction score
0
Location
A Wood Haven
Ah there is of course, you can save your excel table as Webpage. It'll create some ugly html, and you can clean it up and then use find and replace to replace all the < for [ and all the > for ].

But quicker to write it yourself as to remove the ugly code will take longer than to just write it out.
 

CHJ

Established Member
Joined
31 Dec 2004
Messages
20,131
Reaction score
74
Location
Cotswolds UK
The nearest I found to WYSIWYG editing of large tables that could be used on the forum was the old MS Frontpage, once all html page headers etc. had been stripped it would generally leave the in-line code alone and not try to reformat it.
But even that had a habit of putting unwanted non breaking spaces in that had to be removed if you were not careful with the typing.
At the last forum software upgrade even that became less usable so I gave up.

Don't know what editor Neil uses, maybe he just uses a plain text editor, might be worth a PM to him.
 

Latest posts

Top