speaker stands - sanity check please

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tony359

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all
I would like to build two floor speaker stands. The speakers will have to be very close to the wall and the stand must be able to be placed behind the desk which is very close to the wall.
Each speaker is 15Kg and I think a stand is a better solution than a shelf (drywall).

I am not an expert on the matter and my tools and skills are limited but I would appreciate any input you could offer. I am going to build the below. I will use plenty of glue, screws and dowel pins. The top should really be angled 10° downwards. Is this design going to work in your opinion?

Cheers!!

Attachments

• i99^cimgpsh_orig.png
    i99^cimgpsh_orig.png
    101.6 KB · Views: 246
IMHO They will be highly unstable and susceptible to being knocked over, especially with 15 kg on top. And they look really (too?) tall.
Ideally a speaker stand will have lots of mass and put the tweeter at around eye level when sitting in your chair. Make the centre section of your stand a hollow box and then fill it with dry sand. Put some spikes on the bottom to push through carpet etc and if you've got a wooden floor or similar just put some pennies under the spikes.

I am a sound engineer and I see where you are going but on this occasion I will have to compromise. The speakers will be about 130cm high to clear my monitor - hence the 10° rake.
I appreciate it won't be perfect sound-wise but this is what my home allows at the moment. I'll play with proper sound when working in proper cinemas ;)

What I am looking for at the moment is to make sure the structure will hold the weight. Nobody is going to move those speakers around and the stands will be BEHIND my desk, by the wall - so no risk to be unintentionally hit.