sip variable speed lathe

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gubby_uk

Reaction score
Hi all. I'm pretty new to wood turning. I have an SIP variable speed lathe, which I bought second hand. I have been enjoying myself making pens, small bowls etc. I had the joy of watching my lathe smash itself to bits on Sunday. The drive belt started to fray, caught on the pulleys and they flew to bits. I need all four pully halves. I went on the SIP website and they want nearly 40 quid each half! Plus a belt and postage Im looking at over 200 quid to fix it. To be honest, I can't afford that, not with family etc. Does any one have any ideas as to other makes whos insides are the same, but a bit cheaper. Or maybe a headstock wich is scrap but with useable pulleys? I'm gratefull for any ideas to get me going again.
Thanks
Gubby

Try Axminster, I think the variable speed pulleys are pretty generic.

Dust Busker":2b867t7a said:
You could also try RDG Tools - they sell step pulleys
You'll need to drill and tap the grub-screw holes though - they come without any method of retention.

N.B. This isn't a criticism of RDG as such, just a fact - I've used them several times, and would happily recommend them to anyone.

Unless I've got completely the wrong end of the stick the OP is looking for replacement Tapered Flange variable Speed drive Pulleys not standard stepped pulleys.
DSC00586.jpg

Best to ditch the lathe IMO
those pulleys are made of zinc I think - not straight forward to fit either , easily shattered with a light blow from a rubber mallet
you can buy a used lathe for that money (the same or similar quality lathe)

Harlequin":17k1ndae said:
Best to ditch the lathe IMO
those pulleys are made of zinc I think - not straight forward to fit either , easily shattered with a light blow from a rubber mallet