Sharpening query

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Solicitus

Established Member
Reaction score
As a complete newby to the world of turning I wonder if someone could advise me as to how best to sharpen the thin parting tool I purchased. I was looking for something to part off turned items hot glued onto a waste block that was slimmer than the marples parting tool that came with my oldish lathe. It comes entirely flat, without any bevel. Would I be correct in saying that I should grind a bevel onto one side of the tool at the end ? I see that some similar tools have the point ground back at an angle. Is this necessary, or desirable ? Any guidance would be appreciated. Sorry if this is a stupid question, there are plenty more to come.

Robert

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    24 KB · Views: 917
Hi Robert the tool is designed to be used as it is and they work perfectly well I wouldn't change it well not till you have gained more experience at turning and sharpening as for sharpening it I use a diamond stone on mine it should only need a few rubs personalty I wouldn't use a grinder on it

As Woody says, diamond stone on the angled edge, and maybe a wipe on the long edge too will do the trick.

In use, you do need to use two cuts side by side (or overlapping) to avoid the tool grabbing/binding if going more than a few mm deep in my experience, but that's the same for all parting tools unless diamond profile, and even then I still do !

Cheers, Paul

Some folks get on better with small bevel ground on the end so that it provides a rubing or support bevel whilst cutting.
DSCN3652L.JPG

Attachments

• DSCN3652L.JPG
    DSCN3652L.JPG
    29.8 KB · Views: 869