Setting up a new shop and rust....

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maverick.uk

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I am new to this woodworking experience and am actually a mechanical engineer by trade but love working with wood. I yearned for this for quite some time and finally convinced the boss to allow me to build a workshop, convinced her it would get all the tools out of the house:)

Anyway its now built last year, quite a basic construction. Its 5m x 5M constructed with a concrete floor with vapour barrier inset pipes to run cables, i however did not go to putting down insulation. The rest of the construction is wooden stud with featheredge to the outside. The stud is infilled with insulation as wells as the roof. I have completely vapour barriered all the walls and the ceiling and then covered with 1/2" plasterboard.

Now, i seem to still get rust which i guess is to be expected in our moist environment. I was considering getting a dehumidifier to leave running. Is this a good idea?

I managed to source my first proper woodworking piece of kit about 2 years ago before building the workshop. This is a wadkin table saw however it is of the fixed variety and does not tilt, however it was free. My other piece of kit is a dewalt compound sliding mitre saw which i love. I have owned this since new but am loathed to put it in the shop until i sort out the rust issue, i don't want the sliders going rusty.....

I notice in some of the posts i have read whilst searching that you can coat things with a wax, should i be doing this as well to all tools power and hand (chisels etc).

Anyway thanks to any assistance you can give to a new kid on the block who is used to dealing in metal and not wood. Cheers guys

Kevin

Hello,and welcome to the forum :D