Quantcast

Saw technicians

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

Leo banks

New member
Joined
4 Apr 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Dl8
Hi I have a hammer planner thicknesser and a scm panel saw (technomax 350) and I'm looking for a technician to tune them up ! I've had jmj woodworking in and they've seemed to have made them perform worse .
I want them properly sorting !!!

Does anyone have any contacts

Cheers leo
 

Myfordman

AKA 9Fingers
Joined
19 Jan 2013
Messages
2,239
Reaction score
69
Location
Southampton area
It might help if you gave your location?
I use sawtech in Southampton for sharpening and the also sell machinery now and they may have technicians.
 

tomatwark

Established Member
Joined
30 Oct 2010
Messages
1,147
Reaction score
0
Location
Scottish Borders
What do you mean by tune them up.
They are basic machines that a properly trained machinist should be able to set up with no problem
A machine will go out of accuracy with use and keeping it accurate is part of normal maintainace which should be done.
Have a go yourself instead of paying someone.
 

MikeK

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
9 Apr 2017
Messages
547
Reaction score
95
Location
Gernsheim, Germany
tomatwark":l26owh8c said:
What do you mean by tune them up.
They are basic machines that a properly trained machinist should be able to set up with no problem
A machine will go out of accuracy with use and keeping it accurate is part of normal maintainace which should be done.
Have a go yourself instead of paying someone.
I certainly wouldn't call the SCM Technomax 350 a basic machine. I have the SCM SC2 Classic, which is much smaller than the 350, and it took the SCM technician over six hours to assemble and commission the saw. The assembly was fast, but aligning the sliding table took a considerable amount of time. Since he does several SCM, Martin, Altendorf, Felder, and Hammer saws each week, and is paid by the job instead of the hour, I think he has the process as efficient as possible. When the time comes to give it a thorough inspection and alignment, sometime next year, I will pay him to come back.
 

tomatwark

Established Member
Joined
30 Oct 2010
Messages
1,147
Reaction score
0
Location
Scottish Borders
I had an Scm saw and put that together from new.
Yes it took me about a day to build and set it up, so slightly longer that your guy.
But it was not difficult, just time consuming.
If you do it yourself, you then know it is right and more importantly how to correct it if for some reason it needs adjusting.
I have just spent the last few weeks setting up a workshop for a local joiner, this was a lot more difficult as he bought second hand stuff which needed a lot of adjustment to get things to run right.
I had to think back 30 plus years to when I did my wood machinists course for some of the settings.
I have had an engineer come out to a machine though when I did not have the time to rebuild gear boxes on a SCM four sider when an employee distroyed them.
 

Trevanion

Greatest Of All Time
Joined
29 Jul 2018
Messages
3,473
Reaction score
299
Location
Pembrokeshire
tomatwark":2t3cckak said:
I have had an engineer come out to a machine though when I did not have the time to rebuild gear boxes on a SCM four sider when an employee distroyed them.
How do you even manage to do that!? The SCM 4-Siders are practically bombproof for the most part. Some people can break anything though myself included #-o

I agree that any machinist worth his salt should be able to adjust properly and keep his own machines in good working order without the need for spending a lot on specialist engineers unless absolutely necessary.
 

tomatwark

Established Member
Joined
30 Oct 2010
Messages
1,147
Reaction score
0
Location
Scottish Borders
He got a bit of wood stuck, and gave it a bang with another bit of wood.
The chain snapped in 2 off the gear boxes and as there is no clearance in side them, they went through the casing.
A new box is around a 1k plus fitting but the engineer managed to get the casings and rebuild them, it still cost around 1.6k to fix the 2 though.
Was not a happy bunny.
 

Leo banks

New member
Joined
4 Apr 2019
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Dl8
tomatwark":b5600ysr said:
I had an Scm saw and put that together from new.
Yes it took me about a day to build and set it up, so slightly longer that your guy.
But it was not difficult, just time consuming.
If you do it yourself, you then know it is right and more importantly how to correct it if for some reason it needs adjusting.
I have just spent the last few weeks setting up a workshop for a local joiner, this was a lot more difficult as he bought second hand stuff which needed a lot of adjustment to get things to run right.
I had to think back 30 plus years to when I did my wood machinists course for some of the settings.
I have had an engineer come out to a machine though when I did not have the time to rebuild gear boxes on a SCM four sider when an employee distroyed them.



thanks for all your response, im in north Yorkshire Bedale , i bought both these machines second hand so inherited their problems,

the saw was in bits and I did put it back together, as we have very small doors in the new workshop! i was told by the engineer that once you remove the sliding bed you can never get it back to its original setting !! i found this hard to believe!
I know the in's and outs of both machines now but as said they take time to get right, I'm probably looking at a couple of days to fine tune both machines myself, so I thought I'd pay someone to get it right then maintain them as and when.
it's more about the order in which certain procedures are done that I'm struggling with as I'm not a technician am all ways wondering if I've missed something
 

tomatwark

Established Member
Joined
30 Oct 2010
Messages
1,147
Reaction score
0
Location
Scottish Borders
A saw that has had the beam taken off will be a real pain in the backside to reset up.

If you ever have to do it again put some reference marks on it to help you set it back up.

What I would do is put the biggest blade the saw will take, wind it right up, and measure from the table slot at the back end of the beam to the blade, then pull the bed back and measure from the table slot to the blade.

The measurements should be the same, make sure you have a good quality ruler.

The other way is to find a piece of tool steel 3mm thick as a spacer and fasten it to the blade with a strong magnet and then set the table by pushing it tight against the tool steel at each end of the travel

In the factory they would be set up using a dial gauge and jig.

Until you have got the beam right it is pointless trying to set up anything else.
 

Latest posts

Top