Restoring cast iron tables.

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mmmtasty

Reaction score
I've just brought a second hand Wadkin AGS 300 table saw. The table has not been treated well and has rusted as a consequence. I want to restore the table to its former glory but I'm nervous about being too heavy handed. A gleaming table is less important than a flat one. Before I attack the table with abrasives, has anyone any experience in carefully renovating cast iron tables? Any advice would be gratefully received. Many thanks.

I have had no experience in this but if it we're me I would ask a local engineering firm if they could skim a couple of thou off the top like you get when you skim an engines head, that way you know it would be dead flat...

As I said it is just an idea as I'm no engineer...

Hi mmmtasty,

Welcome to the forum, always nice to have another Wadkin owner here. :D

Just how bad is the table? Any chance of some pictures? :roll:

If its very bad then skimming maybe the solution, but a good clean might be all thats needed. :-k

Try some Wonder Wheels cleaner, it only attacks the rust, spray on or brush on,
agitate it a bit with a nylon scouring pad from HID :) If the rust is bad, then just treat it again.
Clean it off and spray some WD40 thingy stuff and you'll have a nice slab of cast iron, and then some Libron lub wax.

first rub with a scouring pad, then see what you can agitate with
maybe some hot water and washing up liquid. sqeeze the pad very hard
so you are just using the trace of liquid, and see what that does.

next go over it with wd40, and wire wool. finally use one of those
cloths that they call fibre "miracle" cloths to clean off the wire wool scraps.
see what the table looks like after drying with for instance a hair dryer.

if you still have bad rust scouring then consider skimming, but not before