Restoring a Pedestal desk

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lukey

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all, newbie here!

FOR SOME REASON IT WONT LET MY PICS COME UP IF A MODERATOR COULD CHANGE PRIVELEGES ETC??

Posted this on an aus site before being redirected here, it may come across a little disjointed, but you will figure it out, as I have had replies throughout on the other forum!

I have always been very interested in restoring and reviving old furniture to something great again.
I bought a load of books and have read a lot about it, however there are some things that I am struggling with...

I bought this the other day, for less than £30!!! A couple of pics:

DSCF1357.jpg

DSCF1346.jpg

drawer1.jpg

drawer2.jpg

I intend to document, photograph and display this from start to finish, on these forums, and get advice along the way from all you knowledgeable folk!

I can see a couple of things with the unit:

1) Scratched finish coating in general
2) Missing Handle
3) Scratched finishing coat on leather inlay
4) Warped drawer (hence its lack of prescence in the picture

I intend to do it in the following order:
1) Remove top, strip, recoat.
2) Rejuvinate and recoat the leather inlay.
4) Fix warpage on the drawer
3) Remove the top coat on each pedestal and drawer front, recoat.
4) Replace handle (or replace all handles?)

So, on to stage 1)

As you may be able to see, it has lots of scratches to the top surfaces of the varnish/shellac finish.

I removed the top from the upper carcass, it was held on with a few screws, so I could work on it properly.

I got some fine wire wool and meths on the wooden surface of the top, here is my first problems: