Question re Dakota scroll chuck

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phil bowles

Reaction score
I am very new to all of this...my first chuck is a Dakota scroll chuck from Rutlands (XT700).

XT700.jpg

It was the best value I could find...and it works for me! I don't know any better of course, as I have nothing to compare, but iy seems to do what it says on the tin...feels pretty solid and works well enoigh for me to have completed my first ever bowl!

I have a question for all you "big boys" out there though. I want to get some "button jaws" ie to grip a bowl on the wide outer rim so I can remove the dovetail recces on the base.

Like this:

BJAW_l.jpg

Rutlands dont seem to do a set specifically for the XT700, but I am well aware that a lot of the machinery in various catalogues is sourced from the same 2 or 3 factories in the far east and rebadged. It seems to me that the only compatibility issue is the distance between centres of the two threaded holes on each sliding jaw...ie any other chuck with the exact same jaw configuration and hole distance should be able to interchange jaws with my Dakota XT700.

Photos of the axminster offerings look identical...does anyone know if they will fit or what the exact hole-hole distance on the axminster (for example) AND are there any cheaper equivalents???

The usual problem with alternate jaws is the locating groove/tenon on the rear of the jaw.

This is the main 'safety' locator that secures the jaw agains centrifugal displacement should the holding screws loosen.

Each manufacture has his own variation I'm afraid, most frustrating.

Phil,

The Dakota chuck looks suspiciously like my Record RP4000. Record do two sets of button jaws (make sure that you don't get the ones that are too big to swing over the bed of your lathe unless you have a swivelling headstock!!).