Preparing Sawn Boards

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PeterBassett

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all.

I'm starting my first hardwood project, a step stool in american oak.

I've sourced my raw material, 3 sawn boards. I got sawn rather than pse because it was basically twice the price to get them machined, and I'm tight considering this is my first attempt. They are pretty straight, no cupping at all and only a hint of bowing in one board.

Anyway, I'm off to the night class tonight where they have a table saw and thicknesser but no planer and I'm thinking of ways to convert the boards.

Can I just get your opinions on my plans?

They are 2.7m * 160-190mm * 25-30mm boards

I figured I'd put the boards through the thicknesser whole to get down to a reasonably clean surface. I won't go down to finished thickness tonight.

Then I can mark out my pieces on the boards and roughly cross cut by hand and finally run them through the table saw to clean up the edge sides. If I'm right that should leave square sides.

The boards each have one pretty straight edge and I figured this would be straight enough for the table saw once they were a little shorter.

Another thought is cleaning the edge sides with a plane, I have a 4, 5.5 and 7 available to me, would this be better than the tablesaw? I could alternatively use an electric hand plane?

My thought was to get the pieces out oversize and too thick tonight and then leave them in the house for a week before going to final thickness next week at school with their thicknesser. Depending on the quality of cut from their tablesaw I could then either get final dimensions there or at home.