Postal buying of tools within E.U>

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mufti

Reaction score
I wonder if the latest E.U. ruling re booze and cigs will also apply to
the purchase of tools from, say, Germany or other countries?
I don't see why not.

Well all I can say as a trade buyer with my EU VAT number I can order stuff from anywhere, with all the official paperwork I can and often do buy ex VAT.
The main advantadge is the VAT pays the postage :D

Hi Houts,
I am UK VAT Registered is there a separate number or prefix or whatever for an EU Vat number?
If for instance I buy from Dick GMBh, at the moment I pay the 16% German VAT, would I be exempt if I had this EU Number?
Regards
martin

Hi Mahking51
I buy from Dick GMBh - When I studied their terms & conditions I got the impression that, if you were VAT registered 'anywhere' within the EU, then you could buy without paying VAT using the number of your residence country.

I am not registered for VAT, I'm currently in Czechland and buy from UK, Germany, & USA - I used to get stuff from America without sales tax or import duty but they recently tightened up on that. :cry:

BTW Dick GMBh have a very helphul, English speaking sales desk.

Just noticed you said:-
If for instance I buy from Dick GMBh, at the moment I pay the 16% German VAT
Have you actually bought & had to pay the 16%??

Sorry but I did not make my point clear. Many tools are far more expensive here than in the country of origin, but if you try to import them by post you pay duty and VAT based on the UK price of the same item, or so I have understood. The news item relating to booze and fags made the price at origin the ruling factor.

Hi Martin