Planer thicknesses smoothness as sandpaper grit level?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RedMist

Established Member
Reaction score
Slightly vague question for which I apologise but I'm basically thinking out loud here.

I am happy with the results from my planer thicknesser, one of these
zjFFScY.png

the wood comes out pretty much smooth as glass. Roughly speaking what sort of level of grit in sandpaper is it equivalent to? I've no experience with the higher number sandpaper grits.

That's an interesting question, I've never thought of it in those terms.

Strictly speaking I guess there's no real equivalence, the planed surface will consist of series of minute scallops that the knives cut as the board goes through the machine. But putting that on one side and assuming a slow feed rate and sharp knives then I'd guess somewhere around 240-320 grit? Like I say, I'm trying to look past any knife ripple/scalloping and judge the underlying surface, if you applied finish straight to a machine planed surface it's look dog rough, but between the ripples it can actually be very smooth..

To put it another way, I have some planed hardwood boards that have ripple in them, what level of grit sandpaper should I use to remove the ripple prior to finishing with Danish Oil?