Pen turning Mandrel

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Diver

Established Member
UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi Guys. I have a dilemma about pen mandrels. I want to have a go at pen turning. I am totally new to turning and have acquired a second-hand lathe with 1mt head stock and 2mt tail stock. It's a first lathe so if/when I get into it I will probably get a better/new (2mt?) lathe. My question is should I buy a 1mt mandrel now which I can't use with a 2mt lathe or wait until I have a new lathe or buy some kind of converter?

Pardon my ignorance but is that to convert my existing 1MT to 2MT and therefore buy a 2MT mandrel or just get a 1MT mandrel now and get the new sleeve when I have a new 2MT lathe?

For what they cost get one now -it allows you to use a 1MT in a 2MT taper headstock but you can use 1MT stuff in your existing tailstock now if you find stuff at a good price. You can buy MT drill bits which save using a chuck, and the smaller ones are 1MT only.
https://www.ukdrills.com/morse-taper-shank
It's the other ways around Phil. 1MT headstock. 2MT tailstock.

Get a 2mt - 1mt sleeve when you need one. Available from most suppliers. Westcountry Machinery 4 Wood Search
I tried Westcountry and they send the wrong one so I called them to explain again and they tell me there is no such thing. I asked axminster who say the same but that I should ask Charmwood who also say the same thing. Its actually an expander rather than a reducer that's needed.

If your headstock is 1MT then get a 1MT mandrel. If at a later stage you get a lathe with a MT2 headstock then you can use the cheap MT2 to MT1 sleeve to adapt it.
If you decide to get a MT2 mandrel then you will need a MT1 to MT2 adaptor to drive it. This adaptor projects from the headstock rather than sitting within it.
E.G. (not a recommendation)