oak table

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stix

Established Member
Reaction score
I have just made a small side table in oak and I'm now about to apply the finish to it. The table has been sanded 150g & 240g and I have a tin of matt varnish waiting to be applied.

Questions:

1 - Do I need to sand to a finer grit before I apply the varnish?

2 - Is there anything else I should apply before the varnish?

3 - How many coats of varnish should I apply and what grade should I sand between coats?

I'm a complete newbie when it come to hardwoods so your tips & advice are much appreciated :)

Cheers
Steve

I think most members would rather go for an oil or wax finish.

Having said that is your varnish oil or waterbased, let us know then we can suggest the best method of application.

Jason

Thanks Jason

I tend to use oil or wax on most of the stuff I do but the reason I've gone for varnish on this one is to try and match the finish on the existing furniture that my parents have.

I have Ronseal diamond hard clear matt varnish, which I think is water based.

Steve

The first coat being waterbased will tend to raise the grain, therefore this should be sanded back with 240g.

I would then apply another two coats sanding each with 320g before the final coat is applied.

Jason

Steve - I have just used Langlow Patina for the first time on a Hall Table in Oak and found it very easy to apply and having tested a piece with hot coffee cups and a sherry glass with a small spillage underneath, it seems to be virtually bomb-proof. A good compromise between the oil advocated elsewhere and varnish perhaps?

HS - No the table is not being stained. It's natural colour is a good match to the existing furniture but I need to give it some protection from drinks glasses and hot cups, etc.