Newbie - my first EVER bowl

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phil bowles

Reaction score
I have been working up to this for a LONG time - I'm on a budget and strapped for time...I guess this is nothing to all of you experienced turners...but I'm over the moon about it! Its the first ever complete and (almost) useful thing I have ever made on a lathe!

Its from a lump of ash, an offcut from a friend's PROPER workshop - It has a lot of flaws, but I don't care as I'm still learning and making mistakes is all part of the process.

zIMG_7554.jpg

zIMG_7557.jpg

zIMG_7558.jpg

Welcome to the forum Phil,

Nothing wrong with that for a first effort.

It does not have flaws! you must remember they are features :wink:
Before long you will be looking for timber with maximum 'features' then nobody will be any the wiser, especially if you don't tell them.

Next time aim to get the rim looking thinner, even if you can't get the rest of it thin, the visual effect of a thinner rim will give it a 'lighter' look

Thanks for the encouragement...I LIKE the "features" in the wood....the flaws I meant were the man-made ones: a couple of gouges one the underside and a "ding" or two where I got a nasty "catch"...If I had turned them out, instead of sanding over them, I'd have been showing my first ever EGG-CUP!!!

Never mind, my mum will love it anyway - she knows even less about these things than me!

phil bowles":2ka31htz said:
Thanks for the encouragement...I LIKE the "features" in the wood....the flaws I meant were the man-made ones: a couple of gouges one the underside and a "ding" or two where I got a nasty "catch"...If I had turned them out, instead of sanding over them, I'd have been showing my first ever EGG-CUP!!!

Never mind, my mum will love it anyway - she knows even less about these things than me!