Newbie Help

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AndyC Longwood

Established Member
Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

My first posting on this forum, please excuse if I make any mistakes!

I have just purchased a new table saw and planner/thicknesser and have a list of projects I want to start work on, I firstly think I could do with a good guide/book on the various aspects of using and setting up my table saw.

Can anyone suggest a good book?

Cheers in advance. :D

Hello Andy

Welcome, I have a couple of books Mastering Woodworking Machines and Tablesaw Methods of work, which aren't to bad got them from local discount book store for a couple of pounds each, however I do think most books on these subjects can tend to repeat themselves. I also use the Fine Woodworking website http://www.finewoodworking.com/index.aspx?
I find it a good interesting resourse with lots of information, articles and videos. you can have a look round the site as a guest but there is a yearly subscription to get full access
Hope this helps

Dave

Hi Andy and welcome to the forum. :)

There appear to be plenty of books covering the subject of table saws but, very few on the planer/thicknesser. There's only one that I'm aware of and that is Jointer & Planer Fundamentals: The Complete Guide.

It does have some good information and will probably tell you most things you need to know. Being an American title, you'll need to understand that they were refer to our surface planers as "jointers" and thicknessers as "planers"... :roll: I'd also advise you look at a few videos on eBay, covering the method of operation.