New member wanting advice! (On starting out)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Asomodai

Reaction score
Hey guys.

My name is Rob, i am 25 from Bristol! I have some experience working with electronics (Troubleshooting and fixing) and a small amount of woodworking experience. I guess you could say I am a bit of a pencil pusher (Ie i have a background in Systems anaylsis and requirements engineering)

For years now i have been at the mercy of so called guitar luthiers in Bristol who take an age to do poor routing for ridiculous sums of money on my bass guitars.

So i have taken it upon myself to start learning how to do this kind of stuff myself!

My Grandfather has a workshop that i get to play around in from time to time. I learnt some of the basics of things but nothing particularly heavy duty.

Anyway, i have set aside around about 200-400 quid trying to put together a setup to do stuff with wood (Specifically bass guitars) It is not a full time setup and will only be used maybe once a month.

Now its not alot of money so i will probably have to go about second hand in some of this stuff.

I have identified a need for.

- A Solid work bench, with wood clamps.
- Decent router that i can work with templates (Must be steady as a rock as my hands sure ain't!)
- Standard tool set, Screwdrivers, allen keys, wrenchs etc. Assorted screws.
- Electric sander
- Heat gun. (A good one, i like stripping finishes)
- Hand drill (Preferably)
- Ear defenders/Safety gloves/safety equipment.
- Small extractor/hoover

Optional is a band saw/pillar drill.

Is there anything obvious i have missed?

As far as a Work bench i would love to have something with a nice backboard to hang various tools within easy reach. Thats pretty much the only requirement. Also i am unable to bolt anything to the walls or floors.