NAS advice

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MattRoberts

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi guys - I know we have a few techies here, so I'm hoping I may be able to get some advice about upgrading my NAS.

Currently, I have a QNAP TS210 2 bay NAS. It's pretty old (almost 10 years), plus its limited on storage (2TB).

In terms of what I'm looking for:

- high storage: - 6 - 8 TB minimum
- media capability: I primarily use my NAS as a movie server and play movies over DLNA
- would prefer a windows OS because I know it better, but Linux is fine if that's the best / only option
- would like it to be as energy efficient as possible

Anyone have any good recommendations?

Thanks

as an IT Engineer I have been through most of the Nas suppliers and keep go back to the QNAPs
and the fact yours has lasted 10 yrs is a testament to that
maybe time to just get a larger one and setup RTRR between the 2 for your most important stuff, until it dies

Steve

I've got two HP microservers (gen 7). I like them, but with caveats:

Limited PSU capacity. Fine if you're not too demanding.

4x 3.5" SATA bays, plus optical storage (need to supply your own SATA cable and Molex-SATApower adaptor!).
Can add external SATA or USB3 storage. NOTE: no RAID capability, and nominally no hot-plug capability apart from what SATA itself provides.

Mine have two PCIe slots, and one of them has a graphics card added (it's supposed to be my wife's desktop machine). Using the HDMI output from that card I have a multimedia capable machine.

Gigabit network port.

Small cheap and quiet.

The net says the PSUs overheat and die. The Gen 8 ones apparently only have one PCIe slot (not seen one myself). At work we've put quite a few into small businesses and they've been reliable, as have my two after four or five years.

Linux is fully supported (wot I run). Ridiculously easy to set up and use.