Myford ML8 Help

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trials_guy

Reaction score
Hi guys,

I recently bought a Myford ML8 with a whole load of attachments but as I'm new to turning, I was after some advice please.

Firstly, what oil should I be using in the bearings in the headstock? I've seen that some people use ATF fluid?

Secondly, currently in the headstock, the attachment for spindle turning is inserted (I'm not sure what these are called but It has a little point on it with 4 flat pieces to grip and turn the spindle. If I wanted to replace this with a chuck, how would I remove it? A friend told me that on his Metal lathe, you would insert something into the spindle from behind and tap it out? The only problem is, on the back of the spindle, there is a grinding wheel attachment. I can't work out how to remove this either?! I noticed that on the grinding wheel attachment and the lathe spindle, there are black collars which look like they have a little hole drilled into them. I don't know whether it's just a case of putting a couple of screwdrivers in here and unscrewing it but I didn't want to go messing around with something I wasn't sure about!

Sorry that it's quite vague, I don't have access on my account to post links to images either but hopefully you understand what I mean!

Thanks a lot in advance.