Mulberry

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Johnny65

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been given some Mulberry logs, up to 20 inch diameter, anyone had any experience with this timber.

nice find there. as Phil says, stunning wood. I am yet to turn any.

Phil,

Painted with what, I'm new to this, mainly straight trunk but some pieces are where branches have been cut off, I got some spalted beech as well, it was advertised as free firewood !
Here's a photo, the top one is Mulberry.

Attachments

• 20201108_122331.jpg
    20201108_122331.jpg
    181.9 KB · Views: 31
any paint will do - to stop it drying out too fast

It is a nice wood to work and polishes up well. Turners like it but it is also good for tool handles. Makes OK longbows too. I have only ever got small spindly stuff so 20'' is great.
Regards
John

Attachments

• P1010001.JPG
    P1010001.JPG
    211.7 KB · Views: 18
  • P1010007.JPG
    P1010007.JPG
    198.6 KB · Views: 18
Has anyone found a solution to it darkening once it has been worked? Years back I turned a bowl from mulberry and whilst it started out a lovely golden colour it is now a muddy brown.

The majority is a yellow colour, the ends that were previously cut have a reddish tinge to it.

Has anyone found a solution to it darkening once it has been worked? Years back I turned a bowl from mulberry and whilst it started out a lovely golden colour it is now a muddy brown.

It darkens on exposure to the light. Keep it away from the sun and it'll stay light in colour longer although, IMHO, if you keep sapwood and the darkened heartwood, the contrast is attractive.

The logs in the pic don't look very long. If so, any cracks will make it difficult to use. If, so, use it quickly. It's best if you can keep logs (for turning) over 60cm long. Preferably more.

B

Bee13