Motor for Watchmaker's Lathe

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tortoise

Established Member
Reaction score
I have a watchmaker' 8mm lathe and wish to add a suitable motor drive. Many years ago I tried it using a 1/10 hp "sewing machine" motor with foot control and found it under-powered and hard to control the speed consistently. I want to mount the motor on a base with the lathe so the assembly remains portable. I've seen arrangements with 1/3 hp or even 1/4 hp motors that seem to be acceptable power. Although the lathe has stepped pulleys, I'd ideally like a more direct (electronic) method of speed control. Add to that I have very little knowledge of motors, and you'll understand why I'm asking for advice. Budget is ...."cheap as possible for something which will get quite intermittent use". Would one of the cheap 24v DC motors + speed control and power supply be a viable option, or not? Grateful for any advice.

Not a particularly difficult job to set up, but I would have thought a 1/3HP motor was a little over the top for the job myself...

And of course you will need a fairly hefty PSU- 0-24V at 15A- available but not particularly cheap (about $175-200 Au or about 100 pounds)

The motor itself would be fairly large- this is a typical 24v 1/3hp motor in size (be aware that many 'elcheapo' brands are quite 'enthusiastic' in their ratings- to put it mildly...)

Screenshot from 2023-10-03 08-37-17.png

Specs
Screenshot from 2023-10-03 08-38-48.png
Screenshot from 2023-10-03 08-40-03.png

A 7" x 9" motor to run a 8mm chuck seems a 'little' large I would have thought???

A 0-24v 15A variable PSU (commonly available in various brands)
Screenshot from 2023-10-03 08-41-57.png

1696286893969.png

(this is from an Aussie supplier but I would think similar would be readily available in the UK)