Metric or imperial - tempted to go retro

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

glynster

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm new to woodwork and so I'm in the process of buying gear and getting set up. Seems that a great many of the jigs and more clever gizmos out there are coming from the USA (and 12" dovetail jigs, 1/4" & 1/2" router bits all appearing standards) and of course the vast majority of instructional videos on youtube are from the USA and so the instructions too are imperial. Being born in 1971 (ironically the year of decimalisation) I was schooled equally in imperial and metric as was the practice (at least at my school) during the Seventies. So I can go either way and can roughly mentally calculate and think in both using a rough mental rule that 2.5cm is an inch, 30cm a foot and 40 inches a metre - all approx but for quick mental reckoners it does me well). However, it seems to me that that is just leaving another margin for error in measuring that I could do without - confusing scales can cause havoc and converting sixteenths to mm and vice versa gets messy. I'd like to just stay 100% pure metric but for the reasons I just mentioned that would seem to involve a constant "struggle" against many tools and tutorials out there. Since I get to measure and cut my own timber, set my own router and table saw etc it strikes me I could easily decide right now before embarking on any major projects to work in imperial only. Of course, angles have never been made metric so can anybody with more experience than me (that is all of you probably) forsee any pitfalls or problems that will still force me to work in both metric and imperial? In other words, are there any day to day tools or accessories that now only work in metric that I am likely to rub up against? Be good to hear from others who have settled on one or the other or embraced working on bo