Maple veneered mdf project

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike_5

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I am looking to build an open front cabinet unit for the kitchen (for cooking books, wine bottles and stuff). I am quite attracted to Maple and decided to go with this.

Using only hardwood gets expensive quickly, the unit will be approx. 2m x 1m x 40cm deep. So I came across maple veneered mdf - 19mm sheet A/B - around £67 a sheet. I want to do a front frame in maple hardwood.

If I ask the wood shop to cut the maple into 19mm strips for the front frame, is this a risk as it might not match the 19mm mdf? Otherwise I will oversize it to say 21mm+ and flush trim it.

I have never done a hardwood frame to mdf before, so just looking for a few points/cautions if any.

Thanks

Funny you mention Maple, it's a timber I've been working with quite a lot recently.

For Valentine's Day I batched out a bunch of these jewellery boxes which I offered around to existing clients. The top is Birds Eye Maple veneer and the sides are solid plain Hard Maple.

Jwllry-Box-2.jpg

Jewellry-Box.jpg

One client wanted a similar box but larger for art materials and without the tray, and I'm working on that at the moment,

Art-Box.jpg

This one has a top from Quilted Maple veneer, and the sides are solid Birds Eye Maple, actually the sides are from the same boards that I cut the veneers from for the jewellery box lids. In all cases the inlay lines are made up from Rippled Maple and Ebony.