Looking for an experienced craftsman

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Alikingravi

Established Member
Reaction score
Disclaimer: I am not new to forums but this is my first post on this particular forum. Please feel free to move my post to the appropriate location if I am in breach of any forum rules.

Hi All,

I have recently developed an interest in instrument building (Guitars) as I have been playing guitar for about 14 years now. I have recently found an expert luthier who is building my own custom designed electric guitar (but he is based in Cornwall). Obviously I know a lot about playing the instrument but I know nothing about how it is built. So after months and months of research, I have come to know that this work is super duper intricate and requires a lot of experience and skill (well I knew that before as well but now I understand the true value of craftsmanship and how long it takes to do a "fine" job).

By profession I am a Microchip design engineer and I work in Newport, South Wales. I am looking for an experienced wood craftsman or a luthier who is up for giving some wood crafting lessons to me (Samurai looking for his Sensei). Since I am quite busy most of the time I was hoping to get 1 class a week for a couple of hours (Preferably in Newport, but I can commute to Cardiff or other areas in South Wales accessible by public transport). I am planning to build a home workshop, but that is far from becoming a reality at the moment but it is my future endeavour. I was hoping to learn the basics and practice (maybe assist someone with their projects etc) so that when I finally build my own workshop I can build by own electric guitar! That would just be awesome! (hammer)