Jointer guards - pro's and con's of US vs European styles?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TonyF

Reaction score
I'm a British-born Kiwi, and a novice at powered woodworking. I recently posted a question on the above on the US hobby woodworking forum "WoodNet". As might be expected, most North American folk have jointers with the US-style guard, a "swinging arm" type of device commonly referred to as a 'pork chop".

I'm assuming most members of this site might be more used to the "Euro-style" guard ... and I'd appreciate your guidance.

My original post was as follows:

"My apologies if this is a well-worn topic of the past ... but an hour of searching the forum has left me little the wiser. If there is an old thread or article someone can point me at, then I'd be grateful, if not, then this is where I'm at:

I'm a jointer novice. I have an older model cast-iron jointer. The company that made it is no longer in business. It is fitted with a shopmade guard that I understand is "in the European style".

I've gotten a lot of satisfaction (and a great deal of fine shavings!) out of a "learner" project whereby I laminated up 3 layers of hardwood decking and milled them into small beams with finished dimensions of 3" by 2" and about 5-6 feet long (I'll use these to construct a closed in mobile base for the jointer ... pics and story on another occasion - I mention the dimensions only in case they are relevant to the origin of the question).

The "European guard" is a slotted heavy flat steel plate that is adjustable for height and horizontal position, and the piece to be milled passes beneath it. I use a pair of the "press down and move from right to left" push-blocks. In terms of keeping one's hands off the cutters, it seems quite effective.