How To Dye Wood

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

paulkane1

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm this has been asked before,I would like to dye Wood,about,12inchx8inchx1inch thick softwood ,I want to make Bandsaw Boxes,with layers of various Light colored,ie,Blue,Red,Yellow,pastel colours ,What is the procedure to achieve this?What do I need ?Preesure Pot etc?Best place to buy Dyes etc? All help appreciated.

Yours Kindly Paul

Softwood is a bit of a mare to dye because it's so absorbant, which tends to give very blotchy results. Whilst I'm no expert, I would recommend sanding thoroughly to 240 grit min, and then using a sanding sealer like Liberon

Matt's right, softwood is inherently blotchy. There isn't a cheap and simple solution, but you can at least improve matters by sanding through to much finer grits than you normally would, in my experience (on similarly problematic hardwoods like Cherry rather than softwoods) you have to go to at least 400 grit before it makes a difference, and 600 grit is better still. You won't cure the problem, but you'll certainly take a noticeable step in the right direction.

As to the choice of dye, a water based aniline dye is probably your best bet, the only downside is that aniline colours aren't very light fast, but if you don't display it in direct sunlight you'll be okay. Don't be misled by spirit dyes claiming to be lightfast, they offer a minuscule advantage over water based in terms of fade resistance, but are many, many times harder to apply well because the wet edge dries almost instantly.

One final point, you'll never get a dye to penetrate more than about 1/2 mill below the surface. Even sophisticated procedures like dying in a vacuum bag won't give you an even and deep penetration. They deliver a deeper, but super blotchy penetration. So make the component then dye afterwards.

Good luck!