How it all started

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chippygeoff

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone.

Being new to the site I thought I would introduce myself. I am Geoff and I live in West Wales although I originate from Kent. I became disabled three years ago and more recently I had so much time on my hands it was driving me mad. I am a carpenter/joiner by trade and there was no chance of me being employed so I decided to take up wood turning, purely as a hobby. I had a budget of £2000 and with that I bought a Jet 1220VS lathe, a patriot chuck and several accessories, a pile of wood turning tools, a sharpening system and a bandsaw. Overall I am very pleased with what I bought, the quality is good and it will last me many years. Apart from the bandsaw that is. What a pile of rubbish. It is going back tomorrow and I am getting a Jet industrial model that has excellent guides top and bottom. It has been three months since I turned my first piece and within minutes i decided it would no longer be a hobby but a small business. By the way. I used to do a lot of woodturning in a bygone era and amazingly most of it came back to me.