help required

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

margin

Reaction score
Good evening all.

I really could use some advice. I am a self taught fretsawer but have got very frustrated as i have produced some very nice peices but i go through far too many blades and dont know why, probably my fault. Usually use spiral blades as easier and i do confess to only using plywood from the local hardware shop as dont really know what else to use. Any advice or pity would be gratefully received as would love to get back into it.
Regards Margin

margin":1s94e2vj said:
Good evening all.

I really could use some advice. I am a self taught fretsawer but have got very frustrated as i have produced some very nice peices but i go through far too many blades and dont know why, probably my fault. Usually use spiral blades as easier and i do confess to only using plywood from the local hardware shop as dont really know what else to use. Any advice or pity would be gratefully received as would love to get back into it.
Regards Margin

Hi margin, welcome to ukw, you'd be better off posting that on our scrolling board but in general terms i'd say that if you nare breaking a lot of blades common causes are

a) cheap blades - these are a false economy you are better off with a quality brand like flying dutchman

b) to fast a feed rate - particularly when turning corners, you should let the saw do the cutting not force stock through it, the tighter the circumfrence the slower you should go

c) wood with a lot of flaws or knots - cheap plywood maybe to blame - I largely use Mdf but others swear by baltic plywood

d) unrealistic expectations - I usually do a blade every 30 mins to an hour or so, so if you think you are breaking " a lot "of blades it may not ber anything out of the usual

big soft moose":1rqc3orf said: