Help needed to restore a patchy teak dining table!

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

richardbell81

Established Member
Reaction score
I've just bought an old McIntosh teak veneer dining table which i'm attempting to restore. I've restored and stripped plenty of pieces of furniture before so i'm fairly confident with projects such as this but i'm the first to admit that i'm by no means a professional!

I've carefully washed down, stripped and sanded the entire table taking care not to over sand the top veneer. I've just put on the first coat of rustins Danish oil using some 0000 wire wool (which i've done countless times before to good affect) but the table top does not seem to be aborbing the oil evenly causing it to look patchy with an un-even colour. I've attached some pictures so you can see what I mean.

When I got the table it was very dirty and greasy but I was confident that all my cleaning and stripping had removed any trace of dirt and grease.

If anyone has any ideas what I can do at this stage to remedy the problem then i'd be very grateful as i'm not sure what to do next. The only thing I could think to do was to try some wood dye to try and even out the colour but i'd prefer not do this if anyone has had this problem before and can think of an alternative.

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• table-1.jpg
    table-1.jpg
    147.5 KB · Views: 11,168
  • table-2.jpg
    table-2.jpg
    158.2 KB · Views: 11,162
Update... I've just tried some Colron wax remover which doesn't seem to have done anything! It's removed the thin layer of Danish oil that I put on yesterday but it's just left the un-even surface behind!! It's as if there is an invisible layer of something on the table top which is not allowing the oil to penetrate the surface properly. Making it look patchy, and blotchy in places.