Help needed in SW London with Wood* ID and value (* & stuff)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mike.S

Established Member
Reaction score
I volunteered to help a retired (and vulnerable) antique furniture restorer in Twickenham whom, due to age/ill-health, can no longer use his woodworking tools/supplies. I bought a load of stuff and am researching some possibly higher value tools but a lot of stuff remains - that is either of no interest to me or beyond my knowledge. This 'stuff' largely consists of turning blanks/logs/veneers/planks and fixings (e.g. steel/brass screws/nails). There are other related items e.g. lathe, french polish, wire wool, hand tools, 40+ wooden planes, some of which is with me in Worcester Park, Surrey - where I can more easily evaluate it.

I have no knowledge of the aforementioned 'stuffs' likely utility and value but feel a 'duty of care' to prevent him being ripped off. I'm also running out of time due to an impending house move, so help would be welcome.

Is there any Forum Member who would be willing help me in viewing the stuff so that its identity and a fair value can be assessed/realised? This would entail visiting the gentleman in Twickenham (near the Rugby Ground) , alone or accompanied by me. I can be flexible - weekdays or weekends, but it will need to be daytime and outside of rush hour/Rugby match days!

Whilst it may seem presumptious, as I'm asking for help, any volunteer would need to divulge to me their true identity and contact details. In return they will discover if I really look like my Avatar and will obtain an undertaking that I will not stalk them :D

Here's a few pics of some of the blanks:
IMG_0938_sc.jpg

IMG_0939_sc.jpg

IMG_0940_sc.jpg