Help for a newcomer

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Haggis

Reaction score
First post as a new member.
I am very new to woodworking, although like many did it at school many many years ago. I have been viewing the website for a couple of weeks now, so I thought I had better join to hopefully learn more.
I have been assembling my workshop, actually it is a standard single garage, along with tools, machines etc (albeit on an economic level at present). I have built my workbench and some cabinets on castors for my machines. Due to the lack of space I require to have my kit as mobile as far as possible.

There are two initial things which I hope members can help me with:

I have been trying to assemble a dust collection system. I have the extractor (mobile type) and the hoses. As I would like to keep things as mobile as far as practicable I am looking for a supplier of a 2-1/2” to 2-1/4” adaptor so that I can just plug in to my planer / thicknesser and then when needed to my router table. Both need a 2-1/4” od fitting. I have seen the item on suppliers’ websites in Canada and the USA. However, one supplier does not supply internationally and the other just won’t answer e-mails. I have tried several suppliers in the UK, without success.

Once I get this sorted out I will undertake my first real project using American Cherry – a blanket box. I have the “planks” (that’s what they currently look like), worked out the design, cutting list and am ready to go. Is there any advice you can offer on working with American Cherry?

Thank you in advance.

Haggis - welcome to the forum.....no particular problems with cherry iIrc, looking forward to seeing some WIP pics and of your 'shop - rob