Hello

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

boabbruce

Reaction score
Hi everyone

I wanted to introduce myself and ask some advice.It may have been covered before so apologies if it has (I couldn't find it through a search)
Anyway I have been reading the forum and site for a few days and thought I would join in, I am a beginner in terms of almost everything to do with starting this as a hobby,I did craft and design at school quite a few years ago so I do have some idea of basics. I am quite excited about getting together a few tools and a little bench in my shed and getting stuck into a couple of easy projects.To begin with I would like to make a rack for some AV/HI-FI equipment and eventually (when I get the confidence :) ) a console table for a hallway.I would really appreciate some input from people here regarding required tools and any tips on planning.I will be mainly looking to use hand tools as I don't have much space in my shed for a workshop.I already own the following hand tools, (don't laugh :p):

Try Square
Dovetail Saw
Coping Saw
Marking/tenon gauge
Vice
3 chisels
Mallet
steel rule

I also have a compound saw ,sander, drill etc in the power tool dept.
I know it isn't much but I am just starting lol.
So can anyone recommend any additions that may be needed to get these initial projects underway and further provide a good base for future use?

cheers

Hi Boab, welcome to the forum. I know that you say that you mainly want to use hand tools but if you do much work with sheet goods (plywood, MDF chipboard) a hand-held circular saw and home made sawboard are really useful additions to your tool kit. I'm sure there will be plenty of others along soon with advice and opinions, neither of which are in short supply around here.

Hi Boatbruce, Welcome