Hello - Newbie from Scotland

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PMP

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

My name is Rick and i hail from the north east of Scotland (moving house in 1.5 months to Elgin :) )

I have recently started my own business doing commission painting of wargaming figures and accessories, and as part of that business i am designing and making my own plinths and display boards etc.

To that end i am looking at learning basic woodturning skills to produce designs for my business, working around the 60mm - 30mm diameter area.

As a total newbie i have read that i should get Keith Rowley's book on the subject, which i have ordered, and try and learn as much as i can with videos and if possible local tuition\open days of any clubs.

I stumbled upon this website and thought it might be a good place to meet some people and learn some turning help.

All i have at the moment is a basic lathe my dad bought me as help towards the business and my xmas present (i am 35, but as soon as he thought he could go to machine mart he was all over it, and it became like i was 10 again going to toys R us :) )

Anyway, the lathe is a Clarke CWL325V, now i realise this may make many recoil in horror, but it seemed a decent little lathe for the price and will get me started as i am not aiming to do any heavy duty turning for the foreseeable future.

As funds are very low just now and with house move, i havent looked at sharpening equipment or tools, but i want to get decent stuff, as i expect cheap tools will be a hiding to nothing.

Main hurdle will be learning how to sharpen properly, but hopefully i can get it through practice and starting slowly.

Anyway, nice to meet you all, and looking forward to developing this part of my business.

Rick (my username is the initials of my business name)