Hello from Congleton

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Petemcr

Reaction score
Hi all,

Complete beginner here from Cheshire who hasn't touched anything wood working related since school, and now through necessity I've built my first project which was an outdoor BBQ table, and have fully enjoyed the process.

Hasn't come out perfect and I only had a hand saw available and a few other tools but it has made me want to learn a lot more.

Hello and welcome- often the less tools you start with the better as you can only work with what what you have available. Build up your tools based on what you need rather than what you want .. good luck 🤞

Thanks everyone for the very warm welcome,

This is what I've managed so far, not perfect but I was expecting it to be a lot worse if I'm honest :ROFLMAO:

I just needed something to have next to the BBQ for when I'm cooking, but it has opened the gates now... if only wood was cheaper

20230518_161947.JPG

That's really good! There are people with much more tooling able to produce much worse work ;) I'd be very happy with your table if I'd made it. Are you sure you're a beginner?
I never buy wood unless I absolutely have to. Inveterate scrounger that I am I now have a stockpile of reclaim I can't manage. A few donors on the "nextdoor" website did me proud there. Soon builds up.

That's really good! There are people with much more tooling able to produce much worse work ;) I'd be very happy with your table if I'd made it. Are you sure you're a beginner?
I never buy wood unless I absolutely have to. Inveterate scrounger that I am I now have a stockpile of reclaim I can't manage. A few donors on the "nextdoor" website did me proud there. Soon builds up.