Hearnshaw 5/32 sash mortise chisel ?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Downwindtracker2

Established Member
Reaction score
At the fleamarket I picked a couple of what I thought were 1/8" mortise chisels, the Hearnshaw instead was 5/32". Any reason for that size?

Old chisels were made and ground freehand, without measurement. The sizes were nominal and some variation from a catalogue size is normal. This doesn't matter to the end user, who would select a chisel by looking at its actual size, then use it to cut mortices, then cut tenons to fit the mortices, all without any measurements expressed as numerical values.

I don't think that size was mistake, rather it was deliberate. I worked as a millwright (maintenance fitter) and we did some welding, from a distance you could see the difference between 5/32 (4mm) and 1/8(3.2mm) rods. So the toolmaker was likely aiming for that size.

The 1871 Sheffield List has 1/16" 1/8" and 3/16" as the smallest sizes of chisels. I've not seen any catalogue with a size in 32nds.

Thanks for the checking out the old catalogue . I was just wondering if there had been a special purpose. Half the fun of finding old tools is learning who made it and their history. It's tang chisel with the flair being 8 sided. The beech handle is what I would call classic English with 14 lines. It and a 1" E.A.Berg bench chisel only cost $5.00 Canadian (about 3 pounds) .When it comes to old chisels, I find a lot more English then American .thx

I agree with Andy.... amongst the very old mortise chisels I have, there are subtle variations from the usual 'nominal' sizes.