Groove Cutter

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dave261266

Established Member
Reaction score
Guys,

I'm a newbie so be gentle.

I'm looking for a supplier of a groove cutter that would go in my Kity 619 table saw. I have tried contacting Kity in the uk and the groove cutter they have is for the 419 which I would have thought would fit ok. Trouble is they are not very good at getting back to me with info or prices.

Does anyone know where I could get one and anything else I would need to get the cutter working (special guards etc) ?

Many thanks

Kity only produce one grooving cutter part No 30 4119 006 and it will fit all their saws as far as I know

the cutter has a set width of 8mm and is primerily designed for use with their "tenon joint device" which is actually a comb/finger joint. This device comes complete with guarding.

Due to the profile of the teeth it will not cut a clean groove across the drain so its use is somewhat limited.

They do make adjustable groovers but these are only for use in a spindle moulder.

Jason

ok - thanks for the info - I get the impression that the groove cutter which I was kinda hoping would act as a non-adjustable dado blade isn't that useful in your opinion.

I have to make about 15 panelled kitchen doors with tongue and groove joints and I thought that this might make short work of the grooved rails and styles. I can do them on the router table but I thought this might be quicker. :cry:

I was interested in the guard stuff because the guy at Kity was saying something about the guard and I couldn't understand what he was on about. I was trying to make sure that the table insert came with the groover rather than as a separate item. :?

Not sure what the "Here we go again" comment was about - maybe I have touched on a commonly broached theme perhaps :p

dave261266":n7hysvyj said: