Glue for melamine chipboard

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fobos8

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone

I'm new to cabinet making - there's a lot I don't know..... Like what glue to use when making a biscuited butt joint using melamine chipboard.

I've tried using regular wood glue. The bisuits get glued okay but not where the chipboard meets the melamine.

Anyone got any suggestions?

Something that will set in about 10mins would be great as it would give me time to clamp and check for square.

Cheers, Andrew

Hi Andrew,

Welcome to the forum. :D

I have never tried to glue melamine chipboard, so I am no help for your problem, but I sure someone will be along with an answer for you. :-s

i was going to ask a similar question, having watched a couple of norm programmes today where he made bits for his garage workshop, he cuts a lot of dados in the boards then biscuits and sometimes even nails.

wonder why he and so many american magazine articles use dado so
much on plainboxes,

i have to say that i think with mfc you need to remove the facing where you are aiming to biscuit otherwise you will get no glue up strength, not sure the facing is strong enough in shear strength to allow for gluing. if you check out all store bought mfc wardrobes and cabinets, they are screwed together, the biscuits or other fixings only locate. so maybe that is the idea buscuit and then screw.

hope this helps although i am sure that others have better ideas.

paul :wink: