general question about cabinet materials

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dmon1234

UKW Supporter
Reaction score
Hi all,

My first post. Please forgive the ignorance! I am a beginner/intermediate woodworker. I have built several cabinets (TV lift for my bedroom, a stand for my mini lathe and a cabinet for dust extraction and support for my cheap tablesaw) and 4 workbenches (2x4 frames screwed together with 3/4 chipboard and an old door for the bench top). In as much as they work great for their purpose I think that I am overdoing it in the materials. 3/4 ply or MDF and 2x4 for the lathe stand. The items end up very sturdy and weigh a ton!