From off cuts to a Ukulele (I hope!)

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Michelle_K

Established Member
Reaction score
This is my first attempt at a an ongoing post so please go easy on me. A while ago Custard kindly gave me some off cuts of rippled sycamore. It has beautiful flame. What most woodworks would cast aside as scrap or fire wood I can use to make instruments. So if anyone else has any nice offcuts...:) !Getting a hold of decent nicely figured woods for instrument making can be tricky. Most instrument wood is sized for guitar rather then ukuleles and though I am learning to make both guitars and ukuleles, at home due to limited space and tools, I focus on ukuleles as they are smaller and easier to make in a smaller space.
So with the sycamore off cuts I have decided to make a concert ukulele. Now, I am still in my infancy as far as instrument making and woodworking goes. I haven't actually completed an instrument yet! I came close but still make a lot of mistakes. But I am learning to work through the mistakes and get over the frustration rather then just starting again. I am still at college learning how to make instruments. I began to learn instrument making and woodworking in general at the same time which has been and continues to prove challenging, but I am getting by.
I have only been doing it for a year and a half.
I said to custard that I would show him pics of the build, but then I thought I would share it with everyone as I may get some valuable feedback and inspire someone else to give it ago.
Disclaimer:
I am not a professional. This is not supposed to be a tutorial in any way. There are far more experienced luthiers out there who would be better to follow. This is just a documentation of my process.

So... Let's get to it.

Attachments

• IMG_0176.JPG
    IMG_0176.JPG
    34 KB · Views: 232