Flicker Effect ?

UKworkshop.co.uk

Help Support UKworkshop.co.uk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DomValente

Established Member
Reaction score
While posting pictures in another section I noticed my own lighting and was reminded of something told to me by an old friend.
"Always put double fluorescent tubes over your table saw."
The reason for this, is that tubes flicker and if you use your table saw without a guard on, the lighting "flicker effect" can give the impression that the blade is not moving, much like the spokes on a bicycle wheel.
Having double fluorescent tube units will negate this because each one cancels out the other.
I'm no engineer and this may be an old wives tale but it sounds right.
All of this said, you should not use your saw without the correct guarding

Dom

Dom the lights "flicker" in sync with the mains frequency, having two tubes won't necessarily make any difference. This is usually more of a problem with lathes because as you say they can appear stationary when they are spinning, not such a good idea.

High frequency fluorescents are available and they don't strobe, they are a bit more expensive but on the other hand they are more efficient so cost less to run.

Keith

Yes, Dom, as Woodsmith says the better manufactories used to have high frequency flourescents with odd frequencies which were not multiples of the mains frequency. I used to have Thorn stuff like that in my last workshop, but my recollection was that it was about 1-1/2 to 2 times the price of the standard stuff a few years back. I thought that strobe effect was also part of the reason why low voltage machinery lamps used to be DC not AC.

Dom Valente":2bwjsmlk said:
All of this said, you should not use your saw without the correct guarding
:roll: :wink:

Scrit